About Friends of Lake McQueeney

The Friends of Lake McQueeney (FOLM) was born in response to a crisis. The crisis was an infestation of a non-native weed called HYDRILLA. Property owners, businesses, and concerned friends joined together in the mid 1990's to attack an enemy that was literally choking the life out of the lake, turning it into a swamp where swimming, boating, skiing, and fishing became impossible in most areas of the lake.

By joining together, FOLM was able to raise the money and generate the political will to attack the problem. FOLM worked with authorities to allow a treatment plan of herbicides and sterile grass carp that not only controlled Hydrilla, but eliminated it. Our lake was saved from disaster.

Since that time, many new challenges have presented themselves. Having a standing organization with an adequate treasury has allowed us to address problems immediately and to have the interests of Lake McQueeney represented whenever new issues arise.

Current issues facing FOLM are water quality, regional water flow and supply, exotic weed control, water hazard removal, boating and water safety, and flood issues.


Contact Us          Meeting Minutes 2019

Friends of Lake McQueeney Board

Bob Spalten, President
Weldon Dietze, Vice President
Jamie Long, Treasurer
Larry Schwab, Secretary


FOLM Zones and Board Representatives

Zone 1, Woodlake & Happy Haven

Larry McDaniel - 830-463-5069, BLTMAC8@yahoo.com
Peter Badger, 713-562-7899, pbadger@natalliance.com

Zone 2, Laguna Vista

Lacey Gosch, 210-279-5851, lacey.gosch@nisd.us
Paul Mueller -830-560-1844 - pmueller@koehco.com

Zone 3, Lakeview Trail

Gary Spence - 830-560-1519 - gspence178@att.net
Bernie Croan - 830-560-1176 - bernycroan@gmail.com

Zone 4, Treasure Island

Stephen Schwarzbach, 832-771-6520, steveschwarzbach@gmail.com
Paul Swope, 512-565-1260, paulswope@gmail.com

Zone 5, Terminal Loop

Bob Sims, 210-771-8774 - rwsims@aol.com
Bill Walker, 830-876-6970, walker@walkertexasrancher.com

Zone 6, Lake Ridge

Thomas Schleier, 830-305-4078, tws@thomaswschleier.com
Karen McMillan - 830-560-2500 - karen@karenmcmillan.com

Zone 7, At Large

Jamie Long - 830-557-4043 - lojm299@aol.com
Bob Spalten - 210-872-4901 - bob@aladdincleans.com

Zone 8, The Bandit & Vista Del Rio

Larry Schwab - 830-609-9338 - camlarry@gmail.com
Charles Shumate, 281-660-4091, cwshumate@gmail.com

Zone 9, Hot Shot & Isle of View

Mark Williams - 830-303-0617 - matriz@satx.rr.com

Zone 10, Las Brisas

Weldon Dietze - 361-790-3336 - wdietze@sparklingcityaa.com
Matt Hannon - 520-971-1847 - cr8r78@yahoo.com